My America

I should begin this by letting the reader know up front that I am not a patriot.  I’m not a tribal kind of guy.  I may be a tenth generation American, but, I had absolutely nothing to do with being born here.  I could have just as easily been born in Moscow or Timbuktu.  I wouldn’t have had anything to do with that either.

Alexis de Tocqueville called Americans a people who engaged in the “perpetual practice of self-applause”.  That was a long time ago, but, he was right then and absolutely nothing has changed since.  We love nothing more than telling each other and the rest of the world how great we are.  I think it’s stupid and dangerous and I want no part of it.   I consider myself a citizen of planet earth.  We earthlings come in all sizes, shapes and colors.  All people on earth are my brothers and sisters.  All other life forms are my cousins.   It would be nice if we all got along like peas in a pod.  That can’t happen because of the way things are set up here on earth.  To remain alive here you have to eat your cousins.  Unfortunately, if you run out of cousins to eat you may find that you have to eat your brothers and sisters, or better yet, kill your brothers and sisters so you can eat what they were eating.  None of this makes for… what would you call it?… “Smooth family relations”.

Boswell tells us that Samuel Johnson said, on the evening of April 7, 1775, “Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel”.   He doesn’t tell us exactly what he thought Johnson meant by that.  I think it is pretty easy to guess.  I think it has to do with the business of tricking other people into thinking they are doing something good when they are only really doing something good for you.   I think it is a way to use our inherent tendency toward tribalism as a tool to gain riches and power.  A way to get other people to suffer and die so that YOU can get to have what YOU want.

As a consequence of my views on patriotism I have no choice but to view every politician as a person not to be trusted.  In my opinion any person who expresses a desire to aspire to a life in politics should be watched very closely and, by whatever means possible, forever kept from doing so.  I believe that all political offices should be filled by some kind of lottery, for specific periods of time, or, by people picked totally at random, by congenital idiots poking pencils at names in local phone books.    Anything but by voting!  Humans are far to easily tricked, fooled and lead astray by other, smarter and more unscrupulous humans, to EVER consider choosing their political representatives and leaders by what they have to say.  Anyone who doesn’t know that lots of humans will say and do anything to get what they want just… isn’t… paying… attention.

“My America” is circling the drain.  It has shot its load and I’m not the only one who knows it.  It’s not the end of the world.  If you want to understand how it all goes down from here on out you have to do this…..

There is a very good reason why our so called “leaders” don’t really give a shit about our “National Debt”.  They just pretend.  If you were them, or, the people who own them…. You wouldn’t either!

Look at it this way.  I’m going to try to make this as simple as I can.  If the people who live on your block are stupid enough to pay you $1000 to cut their lawn and it only takes you 10 minutes to do it…. you will take the money, won’t you?  If you can get someone to pay you $50 for a baloney sandwich that only costs you 25 cents to make… you will sell it to them won’t you?  If you can, through trickery, larceny, or, any other means possible, get other people to pay you truckloads of money knowing full well that no matter how crocked the deal is  you will get away with it…. you will, won’t you?  Now, even if you say “No, I have too much integrity to do that”… you do know that there will NEVER be a lack of people glad to anxiously take your place?  Right?

OK…. Now this is the important part.  The part about the “National Debt”.

Since by now you have stacked away hundreds of millions, maybe billions of dollars, in Swiss bank accounts and bank accounts in The Cayman Islands and Hong Kong and any place else you can think of…. What possible fucking difference would it make to you that the stupid assholes paying you $1000 to cut their lawn and $50 for a baloney sandwich and millions more for all the other scams you have going are paying you with money THEY ARE BORROWING FROM SOMEONE ELSE?  

Why the hell would you care?  42 cents on the dollar borrowed… 52 cents on the dollar…. 92 cents on the dollar…. What the fuck do you care?  Fools and their money are soon parted and besides, the south of France is beautiful this time of year.  The ONLY thing that matters is keeping the game going!  Divert their attention here… then there…. then someplace else.   Make them fight with each other over anything you can think of.  Frighten the shit out of them any way you can.  Lie like a fucking rug about anything and everything….. BUT…. Keep the game going!

That, my dear gentle reader, is what is going on here in the good old USA  I don’t blame the people who are doing it any more than I blame a dog for stealing a bone out of the back of a butcher shop when the butcher isn’t looking.  It is as much the nature of things and the nature of humans as breathing and sex.  It is completely understandable to me.  It doesn’t even piss me off.

It does something I find much worse than pissing me off.

It bores the shit out of me.  Greed I mean.

When I think of what we could have done.

Did you know that over 2.5 billion of our brothers and sisters living on this once beautiful planet have never once in their life had the opportunity to use a toilet?

… and we think we have problems?

Ha!

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My America

  1. Thought experiment: I wonder what the world would be like if we required our politicians to have philosophy degrees.

  2. I don’t know Brad. I suspect that a philosophy degree would prove a poor immunization against greed. It is not as if everyone who studies philosophy comes to the same conclusions about the meaning of life, or, what constitutes “The Good Life”.

    For me the simple act of wanting to be a politician is enough to disqualify anyone, philosophy degree or not.

    • Just read this from my old friend Oswald “Ozzy” Spengler, the German intellectual who in 1918 produced the first volume of his bombshell work Der Untergang des Abendlandes (The Decline of the West)… (Looking at Athens of 400 bc and Caesar’s Rome, he sees a progressive degradation:)

      […”As everywhere, the elections, from being nominations of class-representatives, have become the battle-ground of party candidates, an area ready for the intervention of money, and . . . of ever bigger and bigger money. “The greater became the wealth which was capable of concentration in the hands of individuals, the more the fight for political power developed into a question of money.”…]

      and so it goes…

Leave a Reply

